Instagram will notify users whenever someone has screengrabbed their ‘Stories’.
Until now, you were able to screenshot people’s stories secretly on Instagram without letting them know. But that’s going to be a thing of past. The popular social media platform is going to tell the users who’re stalking their ‘Stories’ and recording them. Stalkers will have tough time dealing with this new feature of Instagram.
The feature, which will notify users whenever someone has screengrabbed their ‘Stories’, is yet to be enabled by Instagram and is still in development.
‘Stories’ automatically self-destruct after 24 hours, unless of course, one decides to add them to the ‘Story Highlights’ section on their profile. But, the screenshot and screen-recording function essentially allow one to make permanent copies of the post if they want to.
When somebody takes a screenshot of one of your ‘Stories’, a sun-shaped symbol will appear alongside their name in the Story Views section, according to The Independent.
The move, which serves as a good news to privacy-conscious users, brings Instagram Stories even more in line with Snapchat.